Posts Tagged ‘Scams’
Domain Scams
I don’t think this is in anyway new but its the first time I have personally come across it. I received an email from someone calling themselves Avery claiming to represent the Asian Domain Registration Service and claiming that a domain name I own here in .co.uk format was being registered as a brand in asia under a number of far eastern tlds. The mail appears to give the impression of being that of a public service format, ie they are giving you fair warning that someone is registering your brand name in remote domain areas. The scam here is I suspect that they get you to purchase domains through them that no one is interested in but under the pretext that they are. The give away for me is the crap English and the fact they clearly have not done their research on my “Company”…. the site in question isn’t a company!
Here is the mail I received:
(If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to your President or appropriate person, thanks)
Dear President,
We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in china, have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on March 28, 2012. One company which self-styled “Sherl Industrial Co. Ltd” were applying to register “xxxxxxxxxxxxxx” as Network Brand and following domain names:
xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.asia xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.cn xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com.cn xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.com.tw xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.hk xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.in xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.net.cn xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.org.cn xxxxxxxxxxxxxx.tw
After our initial checking, we found the name were similar to your company’s, so we need to check with you whether your company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the registration for “Sherl Industrial Co. Ltd”.
Best Regards, Avery Yang
Registration Dept.
Tel: +862885915586 || Fax: +862885912116
Address:8/F XiYu building No,52 JinDun Road,QingYang District,Chengdu City,China.
I also found this useful post which mentions a number of the domains involved in this racket and you can see the ever so slightly varying format of the emails.
Feel free to fire it in your e-trash!

Theme created by